~AbanDoned X-preSsionz | Exploring Hypertext Journaling~ by Carla
Thursday, September 19, 2002

Mentionables

I read somewhere that sex is back in style again which made me wonder why I hadn't noticed that it had gone out of style, what with all the competitive branding of eroticism that is the nerve and pulse of advertising and which testifies to our own individual carnal and erotic natures--call me ignorant if you must, but it's impossible for me to imagine sex ever being out of style; which leads me to mention this site:{ How New York City Transformed Sex in America }, a project investigating "the sexual subcultures of the city's past and present, and explores the means by which they have influenced the development of modern attitudes about sex and sexuality." If you're homoerotically inclined, or if you just like good writing in general, David K's not for the faint of heart { diary } which has links leading to other nooks and crannies on the Web is interesting too.

I found the following letter which I snagged from Dan Savage's { The Onion } rather amusing. "I am dating a Japanese girl who is so into keeping her pubic area hair-free that she actually plucks the hairs out. Previous girlfriends had trimmed a bit off the top, but none plucked themselves hairless! Since we got together, my girlfriend has asked me to do the plucking for her, and I have happily obliged. This has been going on for about five months. Now the tables (or the tweezers) have been turned: She wants to pluck me. I'll admit it: I'm a wimp and I don't want to experience the pain of plucking. She claims that this is unfair, since I pluck her. I've reminded her that she asks me to pluck her, not the other way around. Now she's growing out her bush to spite me, although our sex life remains passionate. I trust your opinion, Dan. Am I being a hypocrite? Plucker Not Pluckee"

Dan's answer: "No, you're not being a hypocrite. Let's say I enjoy being hit in the face with a cream pie during sex. It would be within my rights to ask my boyfriend to indulge me in my passion for pies, and it would be decent of him to do so. But indulging me in my passion does not obligate my boyfriend to submit to being hit with cream pies himself.

So, yes, I believe your girlfriend should allow you to continue plucking her without demanding the same right in return. However! You have come to enjoy plucking your girlfriend, and you prefer your girlfriend plucked. She would prefer you plucked—and your enjoyment of plucking/plucked gives her some leverage. Blackmail is an ugly business, PNP, and I'm afraid your girlfriend has the advantage. To wit: Just because she enjoys being plucked doesn't mean she has to allow you to pluck her. If she wants to remain unplucked so that you will endure a plucking to regain the right to pluck her, well, that's her right."

Elsewhere...Apparently, the Harry Potter Nimbus 2000 was cause for concern over at { amazon.com } From the files of { Mouth Organ } comes Dear Prudish : "This is probably beneath me, but on the other hand, if Amazon is going to make people's comments on their merchandise public, then it is open season for me to comment on those comments, yes?

Anyway, the item linked above, assuming it is a stable link, is the Harry Potter Nimbus 2000 racing broom. That's right. It's a toy broomstick, pretty much actual size. You ride it. (There's a picture on the page.)

The toy, of course, does not actually fly - which I'm sure will be a disappointment for some of the more literal-minded kids out there - but at least one Concerned Parent believes that a child might find some unintended uses for the thing.

In a comment entitled "Keep the batteries out!" which I'm quoting in full here because I have no idea how long Amazon will leave it up, this parent (gender unknown, and sadly it could be either one), says:

This toy was #1 on my daughter's Christmas list. So what the heck, although it has no educational value I figured it would be good for imaginative play. It wasn't until after she opened her gift and started playing with it that I realized that the toy may offer a more than sensational experience. The broomstick has cute sound effects and ***VIBRATES*** when they put it between their legs to fly. Come on - what were the creators of this toy thinking? She'll keep playing with the Nimbus 2000, but with the batteries removed.

What were the creators thinking? Probably that children are relatively innocent.

Dear Concerned Parent:

Number one, your kid isn't going to notice. She'll just think it's cool, and by that I mean a non-sexual kind of cool. The vibration probably isn't powerful enough to do anything of the sort anyway.

Number two, if she does manage to get THAT sort of thrill from the vibrating broom, great. She'll have learned something. She won't be zooming around the house stimulating herself, if that's what you're worried about. And if it gives her a head start on learning about her anatomy after bedtime, great.

Number three, lighten up, you fool. People all over the country are laughing at your comment. Or at least I hope they are.

    Online for 7937 days
    Last modified: 9/13/09, 1:17 AM
    Status
    You are not logged in
    Menu
    ... Home
    ... Tags

    Search
    Calendar
    April 2024
    SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
    123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930
    September
    Recent updates
  • NetworkedBlogsBlog:Abandoned XpressionzTopics:Inspiration, Design, Thoughts Follow my blogif(typeof(networkedblogs)=="undefined"){networkedblogs = {};networkedblogs.blogId=239849;networkedblogs.shortName="abandoned_xpressionz";} -->
    memo, 15 years ago
  • ♥ Welcome ♥ I started this blog in 2002...
    memo, 15 years ago
  • Breaking the silence. FADE IN...The past few weeks had been...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • etc... Every now and again I enjoy posting links...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Virtual PanHandling Interesting article from { Kuro5hin } about...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Him...Letter to Yours Truly ✿ Communicating back and forth with...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Bronte-The Professor So much for her Perseverance -- as to...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Against the Machine Road Rage, Computer Rage, Internet / Web...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Shades of Truth The Paradox of Our Time:The paradox of...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • XDude vs. The Bank Ever been held up in a...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Visual XpreSsionz * To update the previous post, I just...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Digital Filmaking An interesting website I recently came across is...
    memo, 21 years ago
  • Celebs. and Politics I have been checking out the celebrity...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • A Red Day It was a day well spent. Overwhelmed...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Layouts Someone's beenYahooing "premade layouts" so I thought I'd make...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Clarity in Experimental Women’s Writing In her essay “Feminist Poetics...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Yadda Yadda... Ran into an old friend from college today...brought...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Distractions || Goodnight! It has been a week of...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Life's Journey || "Life is a journey." |||| I've...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Lighthearted... The camera like the computer is a part...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Today... + Sitting in the wooden seats at the...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Friendships:Hello & So Long... It's a pleasure to be asked...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Longley on Life's Quest "For me, this is what the...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Mentionables I read somewhere that sex is back in...
    memo, 22 years ago
  • Imagined Bodies There is no doubt that for many people...
    memo, 22 years ago

  • RSS feed

    Made with Antville
    Helma Object Publisher